November 29, 2022

Raven Tribune

Complete News World

UFC 280 Results, Highlights: Islam Makhachev submits Charles Oliveira to win the lightweight title

UFC 280 Results, Highlights: Islam Makhachev submits Charles Oliveira to win the lightweight title

Islam Makhachev scored one of the biggest wins in modern MMA history at UFC 280, introducing Charles Oliveira in the second round to claim the vacant lightweight championship.

Makhachev has won every area of ​​the fight since the opening bell, throwing good shots at the feet and scoring an early goal. Oliveira, the UFC’s all-time leader in submission victories, threatened with some surrender attempts but was unsuccessful in locking in anything due to Makhachev’s superior position.

Makhachev also threw some punches in the opening frame that seemed to shake Oliveira. The same would have happened in the second round, but this time Makhachev did not allow Oliveira to survive.

After his right hand sent Oliveira to the board, Makhachev followed and quickly closed the arm triangle choke that forced Oliveira off at the 3:16 mark of the second round.

After the fight, Makhachev, along with coach and mentor Khabib Nurmagomedov, invited featherweight champion Alexander Volkanovsky to the ring to present a formal challenge to meet him for the lightweight belt in Australia.

Can’t get enough of boxing and MMA? Get the latest in combat sports from two of the best sports in the business. Subscribe to Morning Kombat with Luke Thomas and Brian Campbell For the best in-depth analysis and news, including real-time analysis of UFC 280 at the conclusion of the event.

CBS Sports was with you all the way on Saturday bringing you all the results and highlights from UFC 280 below.

UFC 280 Card and Results

  • Islam Makhachev defeated. Charles Oliveira via second round submission (head and arm throttle)
  • Allgemeine Sterling (c) defeated. TJ Dillashaw via TKO 2nd round (punches)
  • Sean O’Malley defeated. Peter Yang Via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
  • Benil Driouch defeated. Matwes Jamroth by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
  • Manon Furo Def. Catelyn Shukajian by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Bilal Mohammed def. Sean Brady via TKO 2nd round (punches)
  • Cayo Boralho def. Mahmud Muradov by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
  • Nikita Krylov def. Volkan Ozdemir by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Abubakar Nurmagomedov. Gadzhi Omargadzhiev by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
  • Armen Petrosyan def. Dobson by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Muhammad Mokaev def. Malcolm Gordon via third round submission (arm bar)
  • Carol Rosa Dave. Lina Lansberg by majority decision (29-27, 29-27, 28-28)
See also  Premier League: Manchester City made a stunning comeback to claim the title on an exciting final day